Name:	Date:
Tarrier	

WHAT DO THEY DO?

3 Branches of Government

Instructions: Read the information below and underline the words you do not understand.

Our country's Founding Fathers, the writers of the U.S. Constitution, wanted to create a strong national government. They also wanted to make sure that one person or group did not have too much power. So, they created three separate branches of the government: **Legislative, Executive, and Judicial**. We call this process the **Separation of Powers**. Each of the three branches of government has ways to check, or limit, the powers of the other branches. We call this: **Checks and Balances**. Now, let's get to know them.

LEGISLATIVE

US CAPITOL

- The members are Congress, divided into the Senate and the House of Representatives.
- The Vice President of the U.S. is considered the head of the Senate.
- The most important duty of the legislative branch is to make laws, write bills, then vote on whether or not the bills should become laws.
- Collecting and spending money from taxes.
- Declare war.



WHITE HOUSE

phillipmartin.info

- The members are the President, the Vice President, and the Cabinet Members.
- The President:
 - Signs bills into laws
 - Vetoes or rejects bills
 - Appoints Supreme Court Justices
 - Meets foreign leaders and negotiates treaties
 - o Is the Commander-in-Chief of the U.S. armed forces
 - o Receives advice from the Cabinet on important matters

JUDICIAL



- The members are 9 Supreme Court Justices.
- The members are appointed by the President.
- The Supreme Court is the head of the judicial branch.
- The Supreme Court is the highest court in the country.
- Its decisions are final, and no other court can change those decisions.
- The Supreme Court can declare the laws unconstitutional.